Book Review: Sin With Me by J.A. Huss and Johnathan McClain

Maddie’s and Tyler’s lives might have never crossed before, but they still ended up at the same place: rock bottom. When Sin With Me begins, that’s where we find both of them, even though rock bottom is slightly different for each of them. 

The story is told in alternating point-of-views, allowing readers to get to see inside both Tyler and Maddie’s heads and understand where they are coming from. Internal monologues can sometimes be hard to include in a book, especially if they are too long or hard to follow. However, authors J.A. Huss and Johnathan McClain write these monologues in a realistic way that it makes for an easy read.

The book starts with Maddie stripping in Las Vegas, in order to make ends meet while she tries to make her next business idea a reality. Tyler is experiencing extreme PTSD after having just returned from deployment overseas; Tyler’s last mission before being discharged cost the rest of his troop their lives. Now, he lives with guilt over how the whole situation was handled, which causes him to have horrible nightmares each night. There is, however, one frequent dream that is not painful: it features an angel, a beautiful girl with flowing red hair and fairy wings, who is trying to save him. But he can’t figure out who is “angel” is.

Tyler gets dragged to a strip club one night by friends, very reluctantly. As he was about to leave, he looks up and sees the girl he has been dreaming of, right there on the stage dressed like an angel. Turns out the angel he was dreaming about was Maddie, despite having never met her before this night.

It did take me a little bit of time to become invested in the story and the characters, but once these two finally met, I found myself hooked and wanting them to share time together on each page. The chemistry of these two characters is explosive from the beginning. Even though their connection might be met with a little bit of reluctance on Maddie’s side at first, neither one of them can deny the raw emotions and electric passion that consume them when they’re together.

There are three more books to come within the next couple of weeks, as Huss and McClain have taken a “binge-model” approach to releasing this series. I think this is a genius idea and one I hope more authors will start to use this release plan for series. From Sin With Me, we only have a few hints as to what might be coming for Maddie and Tyler’s story, so I’m glad I won’t have to wait to see what’s in store for them.

Official Synopsis:

Two broken people in a city fueled by sin.

Maddie Clayton isn’t looking to be saved. She knows the only person you can count on is yourself. Her moral compass might not point true North these days–but at least she’s still standing.

The military taught Tyler Bell about loyalty. Being there for your brothers is the only thing that matters–but when it mattered most, he wasn’t.

She’s got a ticket straight to Hell. He’s already been there and back.

She needs to win. He just needs to stop fighting.

Some sins scar your soul so deeply, you’ll never be the same.

But this Devil in disguise might just be the angel he needs to forgive himself.

You can purchase Sin With Me on Amazon, Barnes and Noble or anywhere else books are sold. For more information, you can visit their website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *