NYC Web Fest 2016 Winners Announced

The 3rd annual NYC Web Fest was held November 11-13 this year and showcased new and upcoming web series from across the globe. It has been named one of the 6 Great New Media Festivals by Backstage, and it was an eventful weekend highlighting the best of the best in the web series world. Ninety-six series went against one another, in hopes to be named the best in their category.

Originally founded by Lauren Atkins in 2014, she wanted to showcase web series in the artistic and expressive city of New York. She’s previously sad, “Our goal is to make this festival the premier home for digital producers on an international level. An organic space where creators can showcase their talent, network with other artists, and learn from industry insiders.”


The complete list of winners was just announced: 

Outstanding Achievement in Editing to Gretchen Peterson, Jiwi’s Machines

Outstanding Achievement in Sound to Garret Farrell, Rapt

Outstanding Achievement in Music to Dorothy Wallace, for Meet the Ladybugs

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography to Russell Gleeson, Rapt

Outstanding Achievement in Writing to Katie Maguire, Catherine CallahanLI Divas

Outstanding Achievement, Animation to chaosmonger studio OÜ for Life Sucks! But at Least I’ve Got Elbows

Original Concept to Elisabeth Durkin, Mathilde Dratwa, Almost Anonymous

Best Supporting to Actress Claire Lovering, The Agent

Best Supporting Actor to Chris Eckert, Empty Space

Best Ensemble Cast to Peter Ferriero, Katie Barbaro, Leon Salem, Chris Rockwell, Sam Kramer for OMG For Pete’s Sake

Best Documentary to Chocolate Films for 1000 Londoners

Best Mystery/Thriller to Tom Francis for Scout

Best Drama to Juan Vasquez for Trap Plane

Best Dramedy to Laura Frenzer, Rohana Kenin, for 47 Secrets to A Younger You

Best Comedy to Different Duck Films for Fully Engaged

Special Guest Star to Sherrod Small for LI Divas

Best Actress to Liz Days for Plant

Best Actor to Andreas Damm, The Yearbook

Best Foreign Language Web Series to Fran Estévez for Idiotas

Best International Web Series to Daniel Krige for The Agent

I love NY to Plaid Couch LLC for Sublets

Audience Choice Award to Tru Dot Productions & Indigo7 Productions for Haunted or Hoax

Best Director to Roopa Rao for The Other Love Story

Best Web Series to 32nd Street Productions, for Lemmings


This year’s Judges included Major Crimes star Tony Denison, MuchMusic’s April Day, TDot TV’s Justin Edmead, Big Vision Empty Wallet’s Alex Cirillo & Dani Faith Leonard, filmmaker Xavier Burgin, and BET Actor Austen Jaye.

Exit mobile version