The Passion: New Orleans Soundtrack to be Released on March 18th on Deep Well/Virgin Records

The Passion: New Orleans is an all-star event, featuring Jencarlos Canela (Jesus), Chris Daughtry (Judas), Prince Royce (Peter), Seal (Pontius Pilate) and Trisha Yearwood (Mary, Mother of Jesus); Yolanda Adams, Shane Harper and Michael W. Smith (disciples) will air live from New Orleans on March 20th, Palm Sunday at 8 p.m. EST on Fox. The soundtrack will be released on March 18th, and will be filled with well-known pop songs, strung together with passages from the Bible to re-tell the story of Jesus’ last hours on earth.

All of the music for The Passion was arranged specifically for the soundtrack and live event by Adam Anders, CEO of Deep Well Records. Anders also acts as Executive Producer and Executive Music Producer. Working together with Peer Åström, the musical’s producer, the team includes songs by Whitney Houston, Imagine Dragons, Evanescence, Jewel, Tina Turner, Katy Perry and Hoobastank. The Passion was written by Peter Barsocchini (“High School Musical”) and is produced by Dick Clark Productions, Anders Media and Eye2Eye Media.

The video for “Broken” – one of five songs performed by Trisha Yearwood in her role as Mary, mother of Jesus, premiered on February 26th on YouTube, along with commentary by Adam Anders.

Fans who pre-order the digital soundtrack will instantly receive “Broken.” The Passion is available for pre- order on iTunes, as well as,, and The Target and Walmart editions will each contain exclusive bonus tracks.

Set in modern day New Orleans, The Passion follows Jesus of Nazareth as he presides over the Last Supper, is betrayed by Judas and arrested, put on trial and convicted by Pontius Pilate, is crucified and resurrected. Hosted and narrated by Tyler Perry, the event will unfold live at some of New Orleans’ most iconic locations. The Passion will also feature a thousand people carrying an illuminated 20-foot cross from outside of the Superdome to the live stage at Woldenberg, on the banks of the Mississippi River.

Adam Anders and Peer Åström have made sure that the music is both contemporary and compelling.

Jencarlos Canela sings “Unconditionally,” originally from Katy Perry’s 2013 release, “Prism.”

Anders and Chris Daughtry talk about Daughtry’s role as Judas and use of the song “Demons” from Imagine Dragons. The song is used in the scene where Judas betrays Jesus with a kiss.

“The cast sings powerful versions of some of today’s biggest pop songs arranged specifically to help tell the story of the last hours of Jesus Christ’s life on earth,” said Anders. “The soundtrack makes you feel love, hope, faith, betrayal and all of the other emotions that you could imagine taking place within the story.”

Anders and Åström’s previous television and film collaborations include “Glee” and “Rock of Ages.” Together, they have produced such artists as Tori Kelly, Hilary Duff, Cee-Lo Green, Jonas Brothers, Miley Cyrus, Backstreet Boys, Steven Curtis Chapman, Madonna and Enrique Iglesias.

Highlights from the soundtrack include “With Arms Wide Open” (Creed), “Bring Me To Life” (Evanescence), “Hands” (Jewel), “The Reason” (Hoobastank), “Demons” (Imagine Dragons), “Unconditionally” (Katy Perry) and “We Don’t Need Another Hero” (Tina Turner). There are 8 other songs on the CD; two additional songs on the Target album, and two different extras on the Walmart release.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *