First Wave of Programming for ATX Festival Season 5

Yesterday, ATX Festival announced a small taste of their Season 5 lineup.  They will continue to release more information as June draws nearer, but for now have left us with just enough to “wet our whistle” (it’s a Southern expression).

unnamedThe big news?  There will be an Everybody Loves Raymond 20th anniversary panel as well as a The Shield writers reunion panel.  From the announcement email:

“This year, ATX will reunite the prolific writers behind FX’s groundbreaking original drama The Shieldincluding creator Shawn Ryan, Glen Mazzara, Scott Rosenbaum, Sarah Fain, and more to be announced.”


unnamed“ATX will also celebrate 20 years since the series premiere of Everybody Loves Raymond with a cast & crew reunion, including co-creator and ATX Alum Phil Rosenthal, cast members Patricia Heaton, Doris Roberts, and Monica Horan, and writers Mike Royce, Aaron Shure, Steve Skrovan, Jeremy Stevens, and Lew Schneider (with more TBA).”

The other major announcement made is the recipient of ATX Achievement in Television eXcellence Award, Norman Lear. Lear is best known for Sanford and SonsGood TimesAll in the Family, and more. Prior recipients are Henry Winkler and James L. Brooks.

Other programming/panelists announced were:

  • Bones creator/EP Hart Hanson
  • Betsy Beers (executive producer of Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal, How to Get Away With Murder, and ABC’s upcoming drama The Catch)
  • Krista Vernoff (writer/producer of Grey’s Anatomy, Shameless) & Abigail Spencer, with a double-feature screening of unaired pilotsGrace and Introducing Lennie Rose (both written by Vernoff & starring Spencer)
  • script reading of the never-picked-up-pilotBIG with co-creators Mike Royce & Kevin Biegel, featuring surprise guest cast, and more!

ATX Festival Season 5 will be held June 9-12, 2016 in Austin, Texas. More details to come as they are released!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *